

## **MEDIA ADVISORY**

## FREE STATE PROVINCIAL TOURISM AWARDS

**DATE: 27 AUGUST 2009** 

During the month of September, the whole country will be celebrating tourism month with various activities planned to promote tourism. As part of celebrating tourism month the Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs decided to introduce Free State Tourism Awards which will be held on the 30 September 2009.

This initiative hopes to improve job creation, financial sustainability and development of the sector in the province by enhancing and complementing the tourism offerings the Free State.

## The awards are meant to address the following:

- Acknowledgement and profiling of provincial tourism businesses for their contribution in the growth of the tourism industry.
- Providing a provincial platform to showcase tourism products and enable improvement of quality services and ensure sustainability of SMME's in the tourism industry.
- Utilisation of the event to launch the Provincial Tourism Awards 2009.
- Utilisation of the Provincial Awards as springboard for participation in the ETEYA 2009 and Welcome Awards.

Free State Provincial Tourism Awards is divided into category A for Established SMME Awards and category B for Emerging SMME Awards. Category B is earmarked for previously disadvantaged communities to ensure their participation and contribution in this vital sector to the economic growth initiatives of the Free State Province.

Tourism businesses owners are encouraged to enter the competition to ensure their development and contribution in the tourism industry. Those that have been identified as viable business entities or winners will receive phenomenal prizes like marketing of their businesses, mentorship programme, an opportunity to attend Tourism Indaba held annually in Durban and most importantly will automatically qualify for ETEYA and Welcome Awards National Competition.

The competition will promote the Free State province as a tourism destination for 2010 FIFA World Cup. This is the reaffirmation of the contract the Free State Provincial Government entered into with its community to support SMME's in the tourism sector since tourism is identified as immediate priority sector for rapid growth, empowerment and service delivery.

The announcement of the winners will be done in conjunction with the Free State Tourism Town of the year Awards which is an initiative led by First National Bank, Volksblad, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Central University of Technology, Free State School of Tourism, Hospitality and sport, and Afrikaans Commerce Institute.

## Closing date for entries is the 11th of September 2009

**Issued by Communication unit** 

Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs For more information please contact: Mr Ramokoena, Mr Maloale, Ms Ntsane and Ms Nyamate on (051) 4009548/9550

Email: <u>nyamatef@dteea.fs.gov.za</u>, <u>maloalel@dteea.fs.gov.za</u> or <u>ramokoenam@dteea.fs.gov.za</u>